2017 Midwest Regional Meeting

Midwest Regional Meeting Awards 2017

2017 ACS Midwest Regional Award – sponsored by the St. Louis Section of the American Chemical Society

Nomination deadline has now passed—Plenary Midwest Regional Awards Symposium will take place Thursday afternoon, October 19th during the conference at the University of Kansas Memorial Union

Midwest Regional Award reception and banquet will take place immediately following the Awards Symposium at the Oread Hotel, 1200 Oread Avenue, one block from the University of Kansas Memorial Union

Award Recipient: Christer Aakeröy


Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences

Purpose / Eligibility

Award Recipient: Prof. Jean A. Chmielewski, Purdue University


ACS Division of Chemical Education Midwest Regional Award for Excellence in High School Teaching

Purpose / Eligibility

Award Recipient: Amy Clement


E. Ann Nalley Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society

Purpose / Eligibility

Award Recipient: Jetty Duffy-Matzner


Partners for Progress and Prosperity Regional Award 

Purpose / Eligibility


Midwest Regional Graduate Student Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding graduate students from the Midwest Region and allow them to deliver oral or poster presentations on their research.

Award Recipients:

Jason Applegate, University of Kansas

Rajesh Prabhu Balaraman, Southern Illinois University

Tabbetha Bohac, Washington University in St. Louis

Suraj Donthula, South Central Missouri

William Ehrhardt, Missouri State University

Venugopal KomReddy, Wichita State University

Ruben Shrestha, Kansas State University

Amrit Venkatesh, Iowa State University


2017 MWRM Undergraduate Student Poster Competition

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding undergraduate poster submissions to the 2017 Midwest Regional Meeting.

Award Recipients:

Caleb Capellen, University of Nebraska, Kearney

Nicholas Love, University of Kansas

Wuilian Martinez, University of Nebraska, Kearney

Skyy Pineda, Augustana University

Eleanor Stewart-Jones, University of Kansas


 Graduate Inorganic Award Honoring Professor Paul R. Sharp (New Award!)

These awards honor the academic service of Emeritus Professor Paul R. Sharp, the University of Missouri-Columbia, to the area of Inorganic Chemistry. The prize consists of two awards ($100 each plus certificates) to two graduate students in Inorganic Chemistry (one for an outstanding poster presentation, and one for an outstanding verbal presentation). Award winners will be chosen from among inorganic graduate students presenting at the 2017 Midwest Regional ACS meeting.

These awards have been provided by Dr. Robert Robinson and Dr. N. Malathi Weliange, alumni of Professor Sharp’s research group.

Award Recipients:

  • Poster Presentation: Aruna Munasinghe, University of Kansas
  • Oral Presentation: Wade Henke, University of Kansas